So the summer’s almost over…

I’ve been working on some purses to help me earn some extra moneys during the school year.

000_0004

Eventually I will have an Etsy shop and they will be available for purchase.

Just had a great Mad Hatter Style tea party for Boyfriend’s birthday which is Wednesday (Happy birthday!) Lots of prep: hand made tags for all the tea cups

102_1088

102_1068

Lots of food to make including spaghetti for 12.

102_1093

And a Topsy Turvy cake.

102_1092

102_1096

It turned out okay…eventually…

102_1104

Let’s just hope that Boyfriend doesn’t want to become a cake maker like his Aunt.

Then I started the socks for the Yarn Smackdown and bought yarn for it. I’m not happy with this yarn. It was cheap because let’s face it, I’m not willing to spend $16 a skein for myself let alone someone I don’t know. I like the color, it is a bit coarse but it does soften as I knit. But what made me reeeeeeeally not like this yarn was when I was trying to find the center pull, which I always have problems with, it was completely knotted. On both skeins! Then as I start knitting and casting on (decided to try out this Magic Loop thing everyone one is talking about) I noticed something that made me very angry.

102_1065

What I think it looks like is a moth decided to munch on that piece or someone wasn’t paying attention when spinning it. But it can’t be a moth that attacked it because the yarn comes permanently moth proofed! Grr…

But I got something out of this problem. I got a new experience. I learned how to spit splice!

102_1067

While gross, it was very helpful and it worked! Now you can’t tell! Yay!

I move back to campus in 9 days. It’s exciting and sad at the same time. I’m excited to get back home to my friends and my room and even my crappy campus food which I miss so much (The curly fries might give you cancer, but you can’t find any better ones…) I’m even excited about classes! I have a friend who is in the Army who is going to be stationed in Japan starting in January and told both me and my brother that if we get straight A’s for the whole year he will pay for our trips to Japan next summer to visit him. How awesome is that?! So I’m planning on busting my ass this year to try and get straight A’s. No more playing poker until all hours of the night and skipping classes so I can catch up on sleep that I missed the night before because of playing poker. I think I can do it though! I’m gonna try at least! Really really hard!

But on the other hand I am sad. I actually have to do stuff (ugh) and I will really miss seeing Boyfriend everyday. Makes me teary eyed just thinking about it…Sad.

And if you haven’t watched Dr. Horrible’s Sing-a-long Blog yet, get your booty over to Hulu.com and watch it! You will be happy that I made you!

Oh my tomatoes! Remember those tomatoes that Boyfriend and I planted way back at the begining of the summer? Well, they’re HUGE! I mean HUUUUUUGE! I mean so big that Tokyo better start finding something to fight tomato plants because these guys are gonna start attacking soon, that’s how big they are!

102_1057

000_0008

If you notice, Boyfriend is 6’2″. They’re almost as tall as he is!

Okay that’s it from me right now! I’m going to try and update more but don’t hold it against me if I don’t…

1 Comment

Filed under knitting

One response to “So the summer’s almost over…

  1. Dad

    The onlt thing that I can think of when I see those tomato plants is “Attack of the Killer Tomatoes”

    Run, run far away.

Leave a Reply

