so just a little rant…

So those of you who don’t know, I’ve been having some problems with my blood sugar lately. Huge dizzy spells, numbness in my hands, sleeping for 10+ hours and still being exhausted, and all symptoms that when looked up on WebMD pointed to seeing the doctor. I finally push past all of my fears that I have (could it be hypoglycemia? Could it be diabetes? I swear, if it’s a virus*…) and called the doctor today. I called and polietly asked to schedule an appointment. The receptionist on the other end said, “Okay, how about…um….September 19th.” I thought she was joking. So I asked her if she was. She wasn’t. Today’s date is August 13th, Boyfriend’s birthday (Happy birthday! Here’s a rant!) I’m glad I’m not really sick with a sinus infection or strep. If I do get sick, there is no point for me to call the doctor’s office which is convientely a couple of blocks from campus. If I’m sick during the school year, I’m just going to go the death, I mean, Health center. The place that when I had my lymph node swollen to the size of a golf ball, they told me it was strep but since they were out of tests, they couldn’t test me and so they sent me on my way with a ‘script and said, “have a nice day!” So what do I do? I could just go ahead and schedule an appointment once a week, every week for the next 10 months. That way, if I do get sick, I don’t have to freak out, I just have to hope that I am not going to die from what ever before my appointment that week. I hope my cries of anguish have been heard by my dad (and the email I sent him ranting about the doctor’s office) and I hope he realizes that this is ridiculous also and decides we need a new doctor.

*Oh the virus story! So my senior year, I missed a lot of school. I got sick A LOT that year. One month, an entire month, I was sick with the same symptoms. Stomach problems, head aches, slight fever. I go to the doctor 3 different times in that month time period and every time the doctor tells me it’s a virus. Same symptoms for a month straight? Yep, virus. So last year, I switched doctors to one close to campus and I get a sinus infection. I get one at least once in the fall and once in the spring. I know the symptoms. I go in tell the doc my symptoms and he says, “It’s a virus.” No, it’s not! He gave me an antibiotic anyway, and wouldn’t you know it cleared up with in 24 hours of starting the antibiotic. This is why I hate doctors. They say it’s a virus most of the time so that way they don’t have to do anything just send you on your merry little way. At least that’s how I feel about it.

K, I’m done now. I’m gonna go be grouchy somewhere else…

3 Comments

Filed under knitting

3 responses to “so just a little rant…

  1. Ava

    If you start to forget where you are or who you are with, it is probably hypoglycimia. My father-in-law has it and the Flyer says it was the worst thing he’s ever seen or gone through getting his dad diagnosed. Good luck and be careful!

  2. Beth

    Oh Christ on a crutch. I’d make an appointment with my doctor for you and you’ll probably get in by Monday.

    See if you can’t get your dad’s meter and some strips and test your own blood sugar. He’s not using it.

  3. Dad

    Here is a little info that I neglected to tell you about the appointment issue…

    we have a new Dr. and since you have not seen him yet, S.O.P. is for your first visit to be a 30 minute one, not the normal 15. The 19th of Sept., is the first 30 minute app’t. that they had open.

Leave a Reply

